Tales & images from life as me…

Africa in Black & White


Having returned yesterday from an incredible photographic workshop safari with Capture Safaris and Paul Joynson-Hicks, I thought (for once) I wouldn’t write too much, instead I’ll let the pictures do the talking. The trip was so packed with amazing sights and great learning opportunities that it’s going to have to come in two parts. So… part one is in black and white as well as some infrared, part two will be in colour and by that stage I should have sorted out how on earth I am going to put into words just exactly how fantastic it all was!

Let’s start with the animal portraits (just click on any picture to make it full size):

And some funky techniques I picked up from Paul (note: this is a slideshow so pause here!):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And then the beautiful Maasai we hung out with on our final day:

I had a great time messing about with the new infrared camera (note: this is a slideshow so pause here!):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And we all absolutely loved learning and hanging out with other photographers!

Any comments about which ones you like best would really help me make selections to present to publications for articles I’m writing so please do say what you think! Full colour next week and a few stories to help you share the adventure… watch this space!

5 responses

  1. Nina

    Wish I had been on the trip too!
    Love the egret reflecting and lion close up. Didn’t look too closely at slideshows as on my phone. Will do later 🙂

    March 22, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    • Thanks Nina, that’s really helpful and it seems you’ve picked the popular ones!

      March 26, 2013 at 3:13 pm

  2. All are spectacular, but my faves – the infrared Mel – amazing! x

    March 22, 2013 at 3:12 pm

  3. carriepots

    OH My word Mel … Truly superb photography … makes me feel as though I were there
    in Tanzania again … Loved the Masai photos and the ‘lonely’ ones … are they taken in the Ngorongoro … truly amazing. VERY well done.

    March 23, 2013 at 2:27 am

Leave a Reply

